PLug-INS ? huh ?

Hey guys,

I’m new to linux and ardour… thus far i’ve managed to record and etc…
i downloaded the plugins and compiled them etc etc…but are those the only plugins available?

I mean in windows you get plugins where it’s like a visual interface, as if the hardware is on your pc,
is there any plug ins available like that? EQ, Reverb, Chorus etc… ya know what I’m talking about.

Thanks,
Christopher. "/

plugins are still evolving on linux - there are some architectural challenges that present themselves that are not an issue on a windows machine. If you want some pretty user interfaces then:

http://www.linuxdsp.co.uk

If you want some plugins with knobs and buttons and all that stuff you probably have to compile Ardour with LV2 support.

The standard Ardour takes use of LADSPA plugins that are in my opinion very powerfull and good sounding but lack of a hardware-like interface. If you get used to using LADSPA plugins you wont miss that stuff.

Otherwise you can use linuxdsp’s effects that work outside of Ardour. So you have to connect them vie Jack.

I think the LADSPA plugins are great and there ar tons of them, just too bad they dont look like good plugins.

@Azeroth: I now have versions of some of my plugins that work as LV2 effects. These are still ‘Beta’ versions so there are some known limitations. You will need Ardour 2.8.3 for the GUI to function but you might like to give them a try - the new Mix EQ plugin that adds a channel strip style EQ to Ardour might be useful.

@linuxdsp

Hey thats a interresting option, so i might give it a try.
Can i work with Ardour and use LV2 and LADSPA at the same time?

Otherwise i would have to recompile Ardour.

I believe you can use LV2 and LADSPA - so the LV2 versions of my plugins should work if you have Ardour 2.8.3 compiled with LV2 support. On previous versions, the plugin should still function but you won’t get the GUI interface, you’ll just get the ‘default’ one provided by the host.