Parameter Linking for computational plugins (ambisonics)

Hello all,

I’m new to ardour and couldn’t find a solution for the following problem:

For our free audio dramas, we want to position and move sound sources within the soundfield.
The IEM Plugin Suite does a good job for 3D audio and works fine in ardour. But there is one useful plugin called “CoordinateConverter”, which does mathematical computations from spherical to cartesian coordinate systems, that requires using the calculated values as automation for another plugins parameters. They call this parameter linking and describe the setup using reaper in the documentation.

Is it possible to do this kind of “parameter linking” in ardour?

Best,
Dominik

So my first thought was no, but then I got to thinking and wondering if this could be done in one of two ways:

1. Using Pin Connections. This would depend on if the plugin exposes the control data as a MIDI output or not, if it did it might be possible I suppose.
  2. Using Carla as a separate plugin host within Ardour. Again depends on how the plugin exposes the data, but this is the more likely solution I could see.

Sadly as I went to test I realized that their plugin downloads are x86 only and I am currently on a M1 Mac running native builds, so I can’t easily test at the moment. I honestly don’t remember if this is possible using Pin connections with MIDI like I am thinking or not but I think it is possible. That being said Carla would likely be the better option and a more visual workflow for this so long as the plugin exposes the control data as a port in it.

Seablade
1 Like

Thanks for your suggestions, Seablade.

Unfortunately, I couldn’t get it to work this way :frowning:

There is no MIDI out in the plugin’s PIN configuration view. There are only 64 audio in/out pins, that actually do nothing and are just a pass through in this case.