Odd behaviour with Regions and Auto Punch

First off Hello Ardour Community!

I am fairly new to Ardour, but very excited to learn and hopefully contribute to Ardour and the world of Open Source in general.

Sorry my first post is a cry for help, as opposed to anything useful.

I am running Ardour 2.7.1 on Ubuntu Studio 8.04
SYSTEM: Pentium 3.2Ghz Duo, 3.2GB Ram, Echo Layla 24/96 sound

I am recording 8 channels no problem, 0 xruns, good latency etc. GREAT!

However I seem to have some fundamental misunderstanding of how regions are supposed to work, which seems to be causing some unpredictable behaviors in Ardour. I understand that a region is not a track, more that it references an audio track to allow for non destructive editing - GOOD!

The problem that I am having is that when I start editing regions (splitting, deleting, moving, etc.) I begin to start having some strange results that I cannot predict or understand.

For instance when I split a region, I wind up with 3 regions instead of the 2 that I would expect. In the regions pane I see a list of regions *.1, *.2, *.3 which seem to correspond in some way to the regions in the editor… but when I delete them, they don’t always seem to be linked directly? Sometimes a region will mysteriously appear way down at the end of my recording. Sometimes I will have regions on top of other regions, or deleted regions that seem to be in limbo somewhere? Has anyone else been confused by this when they started? I feel like I am missing some fundamental understanding of how Regions, Playlists, and Chunks are supposed to work, and have searched through all the documentation I could find on the manual, and in this forum, but still am unclear.