Normalise (and other filters) a selection?

Noob here. How do I make a selection and then apply a filter to that selection? Parts of my wav file are quiet, for example, so I just want to high-light the quiet bits and normalise them. Currently I am having to split the wav file and normalise each new wav section by selecting Normalise Region, which is silly.

Any help gratefully received.

I think that’s the way you have to do it.

Another possibility, which in addition gives you more control over the amplification, is to use an effect that has a Makeup Gain (like the Tap Dynamics or the SC4) and automate that.
Keep it at zero during the loud parts and crank it up during the soft.

Along the same lines as Peder… you really have to just pick the best poison. If the stretch of low volume sound is rather long, sometimes splicing the track and normalizing it is the easist option. If the parts are all over the place (like getting control of double bass drums or even bass guitar), using the SC4 Compressor along the entire track is a must. Lastly, you can always use envelopes to make slight changes to dbs along the track path (or automate the gain).

another way is to use the envelope functions of a region. Show the envelope with “envelope visible” from the context menu and then change the volume (don’t forget “enable envelop”). I prefer this to automating the volume of a track.

Hmmm, why didn’t I know about envelopes before. Could’ve helped instead of having to tediously adjust the volume automation everytime I decided to raise the other levels…

That said, the pros of using Makeup Gain is that you have 20-24dBs to play with as opposed to the 6 the envelope has. But if that is enough for your track it’s by far the easiest.