no meter signal

guys, this ardour thing is driving me insane. so i plug in my fastrack pro hardware. all of the programs can see it. i check it in audacious with an mp3 and audacious can see it and plays it back no problem.

i configure jack, jack can see it. i start jack and there are no errors.

i open ardour. i import some songs onto a stereo track and it plays back no problem through the fast track pro box.

i plug my guitar into the fastrack pro box. I can hear the guitar but there is no signal on the meters.

i press record and nothing is recorded.

what am i doing wrong?

i want to record my next album on linux but at this rate its going to take me a month of sundays to figure out how to record 1 track. please help, im ready to give up and go back to logic. Im tired of things not working.

I guess there might be a problem with the audio connection between “system capture” (see QJackCtl) and Ardour’s recording track. Unfortunately I have no experience with Fastrack Pro, but maybe it has more than just one two track stereo input?

If this is the case, it might be similar to two cards I have worked with (RME Hammerfall 9632 and Terratec DMX6fire 24/96): though Ardour connects its recording tracks automatically to some (!) outputs of a card’s input section this is a connection just to “some” of them ;-). For example to a digital coaxial input. But the card has maybe five other inputs (Phono, analogue balanced and unbalanced, Microphone etc.), and mostly I use to work with the analogue balanced XLR input. So I have to make the right connections manually e.g. in QJackCtl or (more comfortably) in Patchage.

Maybe it’s a similar thing about your Fastrack Pro.