newbie question about ardour

hi everyone, im really sorry to ask but im very new to ardour, ive installed it on my ubuntu box along with the ubuntu suite my main aim is i have a mp3 that i have made using quebase at a friends house but its missing a drum track, is there any way using ardour i can get the mp3 to play and then write a drum track over the top of it? if so can someone give me some hints as to how to do this im very confused im a guitarist fo 17 years and can play and have others record me but finding the process to slow to write songs with so am now dabbling by recording guitar and basse parts sequencing in qbase but drums take me longert so wanted to play away from the studio on my linux box

thanks to any one who can help me
Ben

oh by the way! it is time to “show off” my super lame video on youtube regarding the matter we are disucssing here … ok, it’s a bit embarassing to point you to this video but it shows what I described above :

I am not saying anything in the video, I had to move things around in one screen only (I have a dual monitor setup) and my digital camera did not stand the volume level that came out of the speakers … maybe I’ll do something better one of these days (with an app called ‘recordmydesktop’).

Hi Ben,
For that kind of small project, I would use Audacity instead of ardour. Audacity can import mp3 and is multitrack capable, very easy to use and does not necessarily require jackd to run behind the stage.
So your best bet is using it instead of ardour. But of course, if you plan to have more complex audio sessions in the future, your actual task would be a good start to get your hands on with ardour. But then, know that at the moment, ardour 2.x does not import mp3. You will have to convert it to WAV before that.

Good luck :slight_smile:

thank you very much i will look into this at some point i will be wanting to record directly into ardour so it might be worth doing it in ardour to once ive worked it out

thanks
ben