Newbie looking for a little help to get started... Boss Katana and Ardour

Hi folks i’m new here, won’t bore you with the details but i’m trying to get back into learning guitar (properly this time) so got a Boss Katana 50 Amp.

I’ve installed Ardour, hoping to get to grips with it so i can use it essentially to record backing tracks etc.
I’ve been using unix for a long time but i’m new to any audio stuff including Jack/Alsa/Ardour etc.

I read that from Kernel 5.Xish onwards the boss Katana/USB audio is natively supported and i can confirm out the box that i can get Audio into the system (i can hear the terrible sounds from my guitar).

I’m not sure how to get Ardour to pick it up though, can someone point me in the right direction? Do i need to use JACK to “connect” it through to Ardour?

Any help greatly appreciated! Thanks!

I realise that my first post probably doesn’t contain a whole lot of information. So i figured i would provide a bit more here. Maybe this thread can help others with the same problem (not that i have a problem clearly i just don’t know what i’m doing).

Steps so far:

1. Opened the JACK GUI qjackctl, and setup the settings as shown:

You can see that the KATANA is picked up as an interface

Apparently since i’m a new user, i can only post one image per post…

So then:
2. I started Ardour. Ardour detects that JACK is running and offers to connect to it using the current settings.
I then get a message saying that Ardour couldn’t create a session under the directory i specified.
After some googling, i found that this is possibly because JACK isn’t running in “real time scheduling” mode and it probably can’t allocate the required memory.
This source JACK Real Time Scheduling shows how to set it up and when restarting JACK i get no error messages anymore.
Ardour can open a session by connecting to JACK.

1. And this is where i’m currently at.