New to Ardour - too good to be true?

Hi everyone,

I’m an amateur musician and have been considering using my Mac to make music after some time going DAWless. I’m trying to keep things very simple, and at the same time trying to avoid spending too much money! So a cheap/free solution is very appealing to me. Last night I imported some old recordings into Garage Band as an obvious first choice - but it’s SO limited and simple I suspect I will run into walls very quickly.

Then I stumbled upon Ardour. I just installed the demo version.
I’m familiar with the concept of open source software, having used Blender for quite a while now - along with GIMP and Inkscape. It’s just amazing that these programs are out there and being supported, developed and used.

Can someone inform me about where Ardour is at the moment? It seems too good to be true - and I’m sceptical about free things! I’m a professional video editor using Avid, so I am very fond of simple yet powerful workstations to allow your imagination to thrive. Just how far can Ardour take me? I want to create audio and master it to a professional level, perhaps do some soundtracking to my videos.

Thanks

Ardour is a professional DAW, I don’t think it’ll hold you back although if you do a lot of MIDI work you will likely find other DAWs more efficient. For audio editing I’m not aware of anything better: the editing tools in Ardour are efficient and a pleasure to use. It’s actively developed and becoming more impressive with every update.