New to Ardour and to donation-based software, what should I know?

I found out about Ardour while searching wikipedia for music-software. I’m a young musician who has been recording seriously for about two years and I currently use Cubase SE as my recorder. I was looking to find information on what else was out there and I came across this site.

I was wondering two things specifically. If I were to use Ardour can I expect to use it (functionally) in the same fashion as Cubase? Namely can it record multiple Audio and Midi files which I can manipulate independently of eachother?

Also I was wondering how this donation-based software is organized and what is done with donations? What is a suggested donation? I would undoubtedly donate if I downloaded the program but I would want to first be sure it was something I can use. Can I download first and donate after I have a clearer understanding of how the software works/ what it is intended to accomplish?

I know these questions might have obvious answers but to be honest my studies so far in music have surrounded the instruments and I have only recently begun to learn about the world of production and engineering.

Help would be appreciated

@MesterMunk: ardour 2.X does not record/playback MIDI, so if that’s a part of your workflow and you want to try out Linux, you will need to look at other programs like QTractor and Rosegarden. Ardour is a hard disk recorder and audio sequencer. Its abilities with audio exceed those of the other two applications just mentioned (and are at least comparable if not “superior” to Cubase in this area), but perhaps its extra capabilities would not be necessary for you. A future release of Ardour (in progress as I write this) will do MIDI sequencing also.