New MIDI Controller Setup

Hi folks, would someone mind helping me get my MIDI controller set up?

Context:
I have just got an M-Audio Oxygen Pro 49 MIDI controller and am trying to get it set up.
I’m fairly new to Ardour and also have an incomplete understanding of MIDI from a technical standpoint.
So far I have been able to successfully record MIDI tracks using the keyboard, however I have not been able to make use of all the transport control buttons, nor the faders and knobs or the drum pads.
I’m using Ardour 8.4.0 on Debian with ALSA and have studied the Ardour manual as well as I can regarding MIDI.

In Ardour; What I’ve done/tried so far:

• Selected the controller as USB MIDI input for the track.
  • Under Edit > Preferences > MIDI > MIDI Port Config I’ve ticked the boxes for ‘Music Data’ and ‘Control Data’ next to Oxygen Pro 49 USB MIDI (In). I can still record notes even with both of these boxes unticked though. All other boxes are not ticked.
  • I copied Erik Deroo/Francesco Grasselli’s MIDI map for the M-Audio Oxygen Pro 49 MIDI controller and placed it in ~/.config/ardour8/midi_maps
  • Under Edit > Preferences > Control Surfaces I’ve enabled Generic MIDI as the Control Surface Protocol. In the Control Protocol Settings window under ‘Incoming MIDI on’ I’ve selected Oxygen Pro 49 USB MIDI (In) in the dropdown menu.

On the controller:
Complicating matters is the fact that the MIDI controller has a wide selection of DAWs and presets, which, if I understand correctly, correspond to the specific MIDI signals the controller is sending. It’s not clear to me whether I need to select one of these presets in particular for it to match the one Ardour is using, however none of them currently work fully with my Ardour configuration. A comment in Erik/Francesco’s map file that I’m using says “Auto-map should be ON” but I’m not sure whether this refers to something in Ardour or on the controller.