Need some help in mixing

Hi guys. I’m a jazz piano teacher and i recorded with my students a song. I am a noob in mixing and my problem are the lower frequencies. I’m not satisfied with this mix on this range. Can someone help me? What can i do to make clear lower frequencies? Thank you

TDR Nova.dll is a free EQ plugin that’s great. Assign it to your track, and loop your track as you play with the EQ settings, until you like what you hear. That’s the most basic way of achieving what you’re looking for, without talking about compressors and other advanced techniques.

Having said that, you can also add TDR Molotok.dll at the end of your fx chain, and play with the compressor until you like what you hear, and you don’t get clipping (the red numbers in the volume vu-meters).

:slight_smile:

1 Like

@Bendit Okay, i’ll try this plugin. Thank you for your help! Cheers

Hi wozzl, I’m getting an error message on your Soundcloud embed that the track couldn’t be found.
Can you reupload or share another link?

That said, from my experience with mixing, most lower-end mixing issues happen when you haven’t removed the ultra low end frequencies (say under 50-80hz) enough, or when you’re trying to mix on headphones, or when you’ve overcompressed the bass.

What does your hardware setup looks like? Are you mixing on monitors or headphones?

Hi. I did a re-upload now. Thanks

I have headphones (akg712-pro) and studio monitors. But in the car the sound is really different.

Well accounting for the differences between listening environments (Car vs Headphones vs home stereo vs laptop vs etc…) is typically part of the mastering process, not as much mixing.

That being said a quick listen suggests there is still some work to do on the mix as well, I think you could probably benefit by looking at the bass a bit in particular, you have a good tone, but it is lacking a little in punch. Just be careful not to overdo it as you can muddy up the mix quickly like that.