Need help with audio distribution through jack

Hello,

I’m a newbie to linux audio and jack and maybe my question is a stupid one but I’m confused now and don’t know where to start with. I’m very appreciated if anyone take some precious time to have a look and help me. Thanks in advance.

Currently I have jackd (0.118.0) installed on two machine running ubuntu (10.04). The goal is to make one machine a master one and it’ll distribute the sound synchronously to multiple slaves (each slave should be in separated rooms and the sound will be output to the speakers connected to them).

What I has come until now is that I can connect the master and slave using the jack_netsource command. On slave I use
jackd -R -d net
and on master I startup jackd with alsa backend and use: jack_netsource -H 192.168.2.175 (IP of the slave). On the master it say connected

I tried to play a music(mp3) on master machine through vlc (or audacious) and connect the vlc output port (out_1 and out_2) to the netjack -playback port (playback_1 and playback_2) but I get no sound output on slave (don’t hear anything from the speakers). The connections showing on the slave machine through qjackctl are system capture ports (capture_1 and capture_2) and system playback ports (playback_1 and playback_2), I also try to connect them but also don’t hear any sound.

I tried the reverse the process that I play the music on the slave and connect the netjack capture ports on master then I can hear the music on master speakers!

Is there any steps or anything that I missed the make the system function as proposed? Is it possible to do so with jackd and netjack or I just can connect multiple slave and whenever a slave play the music the sound will get sound output to the master? (seem what I got is the reverse of the function expected!)

Could someone shed some light on this please?

great :slight_smile: