My experience with Ardour

Hey everybody

I am totally new to ardour and homerecording on linux in general. I want to give you some kind of report, of how my first step into this giant universe of making music on pc was and of course i have a lot of questions. So maybe you can give me some tips and hinds, because i am really excited about what ardour and jack really can.

So maybe this post could also help the developers one making Ardour a better DAW.

I am using Ardour for 1 month now and can say i am pretty much impressed of how easy things were going so far.
My machine is using:

Intel Quad core 4x 2,8 ghz
4 Gig DDR2 RAM
Ubuntu 9.04 with newest Kernel (no RT-Kernel yet)

3 Ibanez Guitars and 1 BC Rich Warlock NJ Deluxe
Boss GT-50 and Rocktron Intellifex vor effects
Hughes & Kettner Tourreverb AMP

I’m still recording through that crappy Line-In on my PC. The signal comes from the BOSS GT-50 Effectpedal, which has extra out for headphones/recording.

So far everything was pretty much plug&play but im looking out for a linux compatible audio interface. I know there are lots of discussions about this topic, which i all read. So my choice would be the EDIROL FA-66 or the Presonus Firepod. As getting sound into your computer is essential for homerecording maybe you could give me some tips of how to setup everything, or maybe you already have experience with those interfaces. One thing thats still a big mystery for me is JACK. Whenever i recorded something i just opend Ardour, selected the inputs and everything was fine, but jack seems to be very important and i don’t have any clue of how it works.

The same thing goes for Linux and audio in general. Im using Ubuntu for like 5 years but audio was never something for me to go deeper into. When i got 2 applications runing like Ardour and Tuxguitar (for writing Songs) only one can play sound. Is that regular on linux or just config??