Multitrack recording with ZEDi-10FX

I am new to multitrack recording and am trying to setup my new USB mixer, the ZEDi-10FX for multitrack recording. I would like to start with recording a vocal mic and a guitar. I would like these to be split into separate tracks in Ardour. Once I get that rolling, I will experiment with more tracks.

Recording the output works just fine, I can get a nice clean signal path from the mixer to the computer. I just don’t know how to setup it up so multiple tracks can be recorded at once.

My specs (if needed):
Macbook Pro (Retina 15 inch)
IOS 10.12.2 Sierra
2.5 GHz Intel Core i7
16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
AMD Radeon R9 M370X 2048 MB
Intel Iris Pro 1536 MB
ZEDi-10FX USB mixer (4 ins/4 outs)
Ardour5

The mixer is an Allen & Heath - ZEDi-10FX, I forgot to mention the brand.

Do you have it connected to your computer via USB? It needs to be to do what you want.

When connected via USB, and you open your Ardour, you will be able to choose it as the input hardware. If it doesn’t show up, click the “refresh devices” button.

Then, when you create a new track in Ardour, you can right-click the track and chose the “inputs” menu item. Ensure the input selected is the one you want from the mixer. So, if your guitar mic is in channel 1 of your ZEDI, then chose input 2 on the 1st Ardour track. If the vocal mic is in channel 2 of your ZEDi, then chose input 2 on the 2nd Ardour track.

What you don’t want, in this scenario, is for track 1 in Ardour to have both inputs 1 and 2 enabled. If this is the case, you will get both channel 1 and 2 from ZEDi. Somrtimes you may want this, but in your case you want them separated.

Also, make sure you have any latest drivers/software from the ZEDi vendor.

Sorry, typo:

“So, if your guitar mic is in channel 1 of your ZEDI, then chose input 2 on the 1st Ardour track”

should be

“So, if your guitar mic is in channel 1 of your ZEDI, then chose input 1 on the 1st Ardour track”