multitrack recording hardware

im new to multitrack recording and before i dump money into a equipment i was wondering what all i need. i already know that the computer can do it. but im not sure what external hardware i should get. all i need is a firewire or usb mixer that is compatable with JACK right? i was looking at either the Peavey PV20 or Alesis MultiMix 16. will i need anything else besides one of these to multitrack?

there can be no simple answer to this question. you don’t need a device like that to multitrack - a simple multichannel audio i/o device like the M-Audio Delta 1010 is really quite sufficient. For some purposes, having an outboard hardware mixer can be helpful. You also cannot do multichannel recording (i.e. more than 4 channels at once) using USB. Alas, as i said, there are no specific answers to this question - peoples needs, resources, priorities all vary dramatically.

No simple answer is correct…To elaborate on Paul’s answer to give you an idea.

Think about your needs, what you are recording, how many channels you need to record at a time.(need being the operative word)

Many people do simple overdubs (record a guitar, then record the vocals, then record some percussion e.t.c…). In which case a microphone, channel strip (mic preamp with some extras) and decent 2 channel soundcard will do the trick.

If it is line level devices (primarily synths and samplers, but not guitars, mics, basses e.t.c…), You could get away with a multichannel device 4,8 or more channels depends on your budget and needs (if it is sequenced material it is only a budget issue - more channels=less takes). Of course even with line level instruments it is nicer to have a mixer with individual channel outs. As a great price for quality trade off, I highly recommend the M-Audio Delta 44 (I ama proud owner of a Delta 1010 and used to have a Delta 66)