MSVC Compiler support - a good idea?

Hi,

As a Programmer myself i was reading some of the comments regarding MSVC Compiler support. So i test wise checked out the source and was able to compile a few dependency libs but by far not all. I saw there is a Mixbus3 Visual Studio Project file and it looked to me there was already some sort of attempt doing it.

I also checked if WAF could be used to target the MSVC Compiler (2022/latest) with it but i was not successfull getting waf to even recognize MSVC. I had a few good experiences sharing code between GCC/CLANG and MSVC, using CMake (even if it’s not my cup of tea) but at least it worked out.

But back to topic.
Is there any bennefit or positive side effect trying/building Ardour with MSVC or is it just a waste of time trying it?

As for my knowledge, the (MSVC) C Compiler isn’t realy developed anymore, bc Microsoft is trying t
o focus on C++ only. So C 89 compliance should be ok, but everything above can be tricky.

Maybe John or some of the more experienced Dev’s can say a few things about the matter.

I though @John_E already kept that support working.

Sorry Chris but that was quite some time ago… I still build Ardour and Mixbus here but the support stack stopped being buildable with MSVC long ago. Most of the libs don’t support MSVC at all any more and even for those that do, their support is now well out of date. For example, the various “mm” libraries (atkmm / gtkmm etc) all need to generate “.def” files (module definition files) but their generated .def’s are only compatible with older versions of MSVC. My gut feeling is that @Dravion only got as far as building the ‘C’ libraries. For C++, gcc isn’t at all compatible with MSVC or Clang (not on Windows anyway…)