Moving entirely to Linux and Ardour

I wasn’t quite sure which category to post this under but I wanted to say that tomorrow morning I’m making the move entirely to Linux and Ardour (with more than a dash of Mixbus for mastering!). If you’ve read the classical workflow mega thread, you’ll know that I’ve been straddling two platforms for a good while now but I finally feel ready to make the shift. No more Win10, iLok, HASP key, eLicenser etc.

As a classical engineer I will have to make a few changes and/or sacrifices but this is to be expected. I’ll be trying my hand at Audacity for spectral editing in addition to using my Wavearts suites via Wine for realtime noise reduction. For everything else I have various open-source plugins ready to deploy that are more than capable of doing a professional job. One of the tipping points in the past few days has been thoroughly testing Michael Willis’ Dragonfly Hall reverb. Between this, the Harrison GVerb+ and impulse responses there’s not much that cannot be achieved. I’m also keeping a keen eye on Noise Repellent as an eventual replacement for the Wavearts stuff.

Anyway, a big thank you to the devs of Ardour and Mixbus for providing such amazing software (@Michael_Willis: great job on the latest iteration of your reverbs!). I hope to share my first completely open-source Bach recording in the near future. Even the instruments I have settled on are free-to-download and playable in Grandorgue.

8 Likes

Good luck on your experience.

A few things to note that you may already be aware of, while WaveARTs is certainly not bad (I used it for many years) and in fact I think it does a slightly better job with HF broadband noise reduction, it is not quite up to the same level as Rx if you are used to using it. I find there is a use for both tools honestly, but Rx does make things a bit easier to achieve.