MOTU compatibility

i have a PowerBook G4 and i want to use Ardour for multi-track recording. i want to be able to record multiple tracks at once (say, around 8, for a full sized band). i was looking to use the MOTU ultralite to interface with my 16ch Mackie mixer. Ardour recognizes Core Audio drivers, and so does the MOTU device. Does this mean i can record multiple tracks at once with Ardour? i’m very new to multi-track digital recording, and i have noticed that some hardware devices and apps have limitations as to how many tracks can be recorded at once. What do the other Mac users out there use to interface with Ardour?

Ardour does not use CoreAudio at all. All audio I/O is handled via JACK to allow inter-application audio routing as well as I/O to and from hardware. As far as we know, if it has a CoreAudio driver, it works with JACK. It is possible for there to be minor incompatibilities that can cause problems, but in general this rule stands.

Ardour can record as many tracks at one time as your disk subsystem will permit. The record to date is about 70 tracks at once. The program began life as a pure hard disk recorder, not an editor, and so it tends to be significantly more reliable in this area than software that began life as a sequencer and later added multitrack recording functionality.

i forgot to mention that although MOTU h/w will work on a Mac running OS/X, because of MOTU’s policies towards Linux support i would encourage to choose other hardware. MOTU have consistently and vigorously turned away the Linux community’s attempts to create (for free) drivers for MOTU hardware, despite our successful results with RME, M-Audio, Echo and many other fine products. if you have a choice (and i know you do, despite the fine qualities of MOTU’s equipment) i request that you do not reward them in this way.