Monitoring - volume levels - ardour

Hi Everyone. I’m new to Ardour/Linux. I’ve had some success figuring it out, but the problem that still escapes me is monitoring.

I’m using a Mackie Onyx BlackJack. Right now, the best monitoring situation I can do is record everything and send it through a “general” bus then turn the volume way down so I can hear the track I’m currently recording. When I’m recording a singer they ask for more vocals in the monitor, but the only way I can do that is turning everything else down. I’ve researched a lot, but can’t figure it out.

I’ve tried options->monitoring-> everything in there, but I still can configure it. Also, my blackjack has a knob titled “monitor” on it. When I was on Windows using Audition, that did the trick - no such luck in Linux.

Please help - thanks!

you can turn down the master fader in ardour, the monitor on that interface sends audio from the inputs directly to the monitor out on the interface. i have the same problem with my soundcard when monitoring directly form the soundcard instead of using ardour for monitoring (which introduces a horrible latency)

another option is to open up alsa mixer and turn down the main output .

you can turn down the master fader in ardour, the monitor on that interface sends audio from the inputs directly to the monitor out on the interface. i have the same problem with my soundcard when monitoring directly form the soundcard instead of using ardour for monitoring (which introduces a horrible latency)

another option is to open up alsa mixer and turn down the main output .

Yeah, I’ve played with that, but have only gotten ‘tolerable’ results. For instance, I’m working with a harmonica player and he just can’t get enough volume through the monitoring headphones.