Modern graphic card usage as additional DSP power

Hi, I’ve been reading up on Ardour for the past week and am deciding to give it a shot now. So I’m still quite new to all this.

I have an idea which might prove interesting.
I recall reading in another pro audio forum (largely windows based users), where people compile their own plugins in C++ and the sort (forgot what it is called), that there was some kind of development of a certain range of plugins that uses modern graphic cards as DSP.

My suggestion is to enable Ardour to automatically tap on GPUs for its plugins. I mean, modern GPUs have come to a stage where it is so powerful, even ultra graphical games fail to fully utilize it all (like frame rates in excess of 100+ @ 1600x1200 on a triple SLi platform).
What’s more, it is far cheaper to have an SLi system (a pair of 8600GTS shouldn’t cost more than US$150) than say, a quad DSP UAD-2… granted you don’t get the Universal Audio Neve approved virtual vintage neve plugins and such but still, you’ll have plenty of horsepower nonetheless.
Also, nVidia announced the CUDA development platform allowing people to use C programming to utilize the sheer processing power for other complex computational tasks.
http://www.nvidia.com/object/cuda_what_is.html
A new source even reported on a group of russian programmers utilizing CUDA to crack a 128-bit WEP key in 45minutes (or a timeframe that is equally short in magnitude)

I believe this is a very interesting avenue to look into. Sorry I can’t contribute more technically.
Thanks for reading.

Nothing like the smell of fear…