Mixing at 96K/192khz

I saw this post about hi sample rates and the post was talking about how unnecessary hi sample rates are eg. 192khZ. The website posted audio files and the post that that the files should have no audible distortion sounds from a sine wave I think, and if you heard sounds that means that there is something going on with your hardware giving back hi frequency information etc. I did the test and I heard sounds but have others noticed any small amounts of noises generated from there hi res sessions, I’m not a expert on how hi res audio should be analyzed but it makes me wonder if I should even bother trying hi sample rates.

The website is here
https://people.xiph.org/~xiphmont/demo/neil-young.html

During the post there is audio files to playback at 96khz and 192khZ
Anyone hear any noises?

To cut a long story short: never use sample rates higher than 48 kHz, there is no benefit what so ever in doing that, only drawbacks.

Long story: a human can not hear anything beyond 20 kHz. The main selling point of higher than 48 kHz sample rates is that there is some kind of magic frequencies there that gives some extra clarity / air in the recording. They always fail to mention that to record and playback 96 - 192 kHz your mic, every amplifier in the signal chain and your speakers need to be able to reproduce these frequencies. Amplifiers that are not designed to do this will probably generate noise in the audible frequencies trying to do that. And besides that 96 - 192 kHz recordings take lots of storage space and playing them back or processing with plugins takes extra processing power.

1 Like

I do. The warbling tones

are audible here and I also hear a faint 3kHz tone (difference between 30 and 33k) in the files