Mixbus with OBS Studio

I’m on Ubuntu 22.04 using OBS Studio and Mixbus 9.2.105 and I want to have Mixbus send its audio to OBS. OBS has a setting to use another application as a source. This works with all my apps except Mixbus and Ardour. What might be the reason?

Are you using JACK (or pipewire)? If so, you can simply add an external send from Ardour’s master bus to OBS.

I’m using Pipewire with Wireplumber. I will try your suggestion - thank you.

This is apparently beyond my limits of comprehension.

Here with Ardour 8.6 and pipewire jack, it just work. I think that it sould be the same with Mixbus

When I look at the qpwgraph there are several different OBS entries and it’s very confusing to me as to which one to use. I have a send from the master in Mixbus and no matter where I connect it in the OBS side it does not work.

But whick audio server ? Alsa ? Pipewire-jack ? With pipe-jack it should just work, without do anything. Maybe with alsa (or any non jack server) audio is locked to the audio card…

Pipewire-jack is my audio server

Ok so I got it working but it wasn’t simple (for me). Just a lot of trial and error. When viewing the qpwgraph screen, what is the difference between the two items “OBS Audio Capture” and “OBS Audio Capture Sink”?

edit . . .

Well, I did have it working. I have no idea what happened - I was about to attach my phone camera to OBS via droid-cam and realized I was getting no input to OBS from Mixbus. Playback from MB comes through OBS but the live recording does not. It did a minute ago! This is insane the way stuff just changes for no apparent reason.