Migrate my sessions between different hardware

I’m a pretty amateur user - I’ve been using Ardour for years, but only to record basic demos. My question relates to hardware setups. I use a Delta 1010 audio interface on my main workstation. I plan to go travelling soon and will use another workstation (a laptop) with some small USB low-latency audio interface.

If I copy my existing sessions to the laptop and work on them with the USB audio interface, then when I return home and copy them back to my “proper” workstation, will I have to re-set all my outputs in the mixer or will it “remember” what to do when the Delta 1010 is in the system?

Is there a “clean” way of handling this scenario within Ardour?

Hope this makes sense, please let me know if not.

Thanks, that helped me a lot.

Thanks nowhiskey, very helpful indeed.

hallo,
as i know, this should work without problems.
the only thing that will change is, if one track input is connected to the hardware input 5 or so, when you start the session with hardware which has only two inputs, this connection will be lost. the same if you use more than 2 hardware outputs connected to your track/master outputs, this connection will get lost once you start a session with hardware which has only two out’s.
i am migrating my sessions between 16 I/O multiface and my onboard intel chip regularly.

cheers,
doc

No answer?
I have the same question. I’m planning to buy myself a notebook (and some recording hardware) where I can take my songs with me. In my Windows/Cubase times, I had always probelms with songs on two machines.