Midimap change bind?

The question is simple - is there any way to change midimap by button?

In august 2016 I’ve managed to write two midimaps for AKAI’s Midimix, and I’m really glad that midimaps are now included in Ardour.

But today I’ve had an idea - what if it was possible to change midimap “on the fly” to make work process with midi-controller easier?

For example, Midimix has one button, which is not used in those midimaps - “SEND ALL”. And I guess that it will never be used.
It could be great to bind that button to change midi maps.

I want to make another midimap, to control compressors on different tracks and banks and it would be great to quickly switch between 3 maps just by pressing one button and not opening a menu to choose a map.

So, maybe, there is some way to do that? I thought about LUA Scripts, but haven’t found anything like this in examples (and I’m not good at scripting, frankly).

There’s no way to do this at present. That includes Lua, which currently does not have the bindings that would be required to do this. There would be significant work to be done to allow the user to configure which MIDI binding maps were being switched between before it would be possible to set up a single action to actually make the switch.

What I think you may want to investigate instead is the use of bindings to the N-th selected track (“Sn” rather than “Bn”), which would then let you use the same set of controls on the surface and dynamically map them by changing the currently selected track.

What I think you may want to investigate instead is the use of bindings to the N-th selected track ("Sn" rather than "Bn"), which would then let you use the same set of controls on the surface and dynamically map them by changing the currently selected track.

Doesn’t that mean that I’ll be able to control certain plugins (or gain, or drive, etc) on certain tracks?