midi tracks

i used ardour mostly for recording and mixing real acoustic instruments. now i would like to enrich some textures adding synthetic bass or strings. i’m totally new to use midi. anyone can suggest plugins that i can download for this aim in ardour? the plugins i tried to learn to create a midi track did not work, ardour gave an error message related to the number of outputs that i did not understand. thanks for any help

calf fluidsynth is a pretty simple plugin that you should already have if you are using an audio based linux distro.

you will need to load a soundfont into the plugin so you can use it. there are soundfonts availible over the internet for free, just google. there are alot of not so great sound fonts but there are some really good ones.

When using midi, you have to create a midi track, if its complaining about inputs or outputs you either have the wrong tupe of track, or the plugin you are trying to use also uses audio.

yes i already have fluidsynth, did not know though about need for soundfonts, maybe that’s why no sound came out from the midi region i created? ok then, thanks, i’ll try to download some soundfonts and upload it to fluidsynth, for testing the operation

yup they need soundfonts, .sf2 files. Load that into fluidsynth and you should get sound

what i do not understand is, i already installed calf-plugins, so i should have fluidsynth too, right? instead when i choose the instrument for the midi track the plugins manager does not show fluidsynth, while instead showing other calf sound effects.
why can that be? thank you for helping me get into midi realm