MIDI: a velocity curves editor (instead of bars) in MIDI sequences

Hello there !

I’m a little composer using large orchestral SoundBanks, controlled by MIDI signals, and so, recorded and edited in a MIDI sequencer.

Many banks need to have a fine velocity evolution during a same note.
I.E : a nice crescendo with a violin ensemble by Sonic Implants is a single MIDI note with a hundred velocity values (i.e. from 20 to 119) in only 3 seconds.

How to create this dynamic evolution in a MIDI sequencer for now ?
Draw a line which create 100 points that you will not able to modify in the future, especially when you add one or more notes in the same MIDI part to make chords with multiple MIDI channels.

Actually, there is NO program to solve this problem !
Neither on win, nor on mac and Linux.
All programs use these awful bars to control MIDI channel parameters.

I talked about this idea with some composers in my circle, and many are interested !

I’ve modified a rosegarden caption to draw an exemple of this idea :
http://images.mrbark.fr/rosegarden_dream.jpg

The idea is to use curves to define the values of the main MIDI parameters, like velocity, pitch, volume, etc, a little bit like the automation concept, but inside each MIDI part, and for each MIDI channel.

In my fake caption, you could add a A2 at the measure 4 on the MIDI channel 2 to create a F chord (F and A notes in the same time, but on different MIDI channels).
And so, you trace another velocity curve next to the first, to control the dynamic evolution of the 2nd MIDI channel.
Now, the F note can be a fine crescendo and the A note a diminuendo and you can easily modify these velocity curves in only one mouse movement.

Sure, these curves create a multitude of “points” in the output MIDI signal, but the interface provides a handy dynamic MIDI editor.

Just a little problem:
If you export your part in a MIDI file, the curves will become points on import.