M-Audio on Ubuntu

Hello

I am new to Linux and Ardour, somehow decided to try Linux (simple Ubuntu 9.04) as a second system for all Internet needs near Windows, which I mostly use for audio. So tried Ardour, even compiled ver. 2.8.7 from source and it works. Recently got a bunch of tracks - the live concert recording done at 48K/24bit. At my studio I do everything at 44.1K/24bit and did not bother to try other rates in Linux, as I have to mix files for video, I decided to load 48K into Ardour, to play with it, but as I changed rate in Jack to 48000, Alsa refuses to load, Jack message is the following:

18:59:46.445 Startup script…
18:59:46.445 artsshell -q terminate
sh: artsshell: not found
18:59:46.848 Startup script terminated with exit status=32512.
18:59:46.848 JACK is starting…
18:59:46.849 /usr/bin/jackd -R -dalsa -r48000 -p1024 -n2 -D -Chw:1 -Phw:1
18:59:46.852 JACK was started with PID=3438.
no message buffer overruns
jackd 0.116.1
Copyright 2001-2005 Paul Davis and others.
jackd comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY
This is free software, and you are welcome to redistribute it
under certain conditions; see the file COPYING for details
JACK compiled with System V SHM support.
loading driver …
apparent rate = 48000
creating alsa driver … hw:1|hw:1|1024|2|48000|0|0|nomon|swmeter|-|32bit
control device hw:1
configuring for 48000Hz, period = 1024 frames (21.3 ms), buffer = 2 periods
ALSA: final selected sample format for capture: 32bit integer little-endian
ALSA: use 2 periods for capture
ALSA: cannot set hardware parameters for capture
ALSA: cannot configure capture channel
cannot load driver module alsa
18:59:47.409 JACK was stopped successfully.
18:59:47.409 Post-shutdown script…
18:59:47.410 killall jackd
jackd: no process found
18:59:47.820 Post-shutdown script terminated with exit status=256.
18:59:48.897 Could not connect to JACK server as client. - Overall operation failed. - Unable to connect to server. Please check the messages window for more info.