m-audio 1010lt in ubuntu studio 10.04 Lucid Lynx

I have mixing with ardour in ubuntu 10.04 for a few months now with no problems, and after a bit of research I decided on the m-audio delta 1010lt pci interface, as it has been largely reported to be very compatible, despite the lack of official drivers. However I am quite new at routing and am having trouble getting it to record - no problems routing the audio for playback but no signal registers for recording even when I think I’ve got it set up correctly. I have been having a look at the Gnome Alsa mixer but it is a little reluctant to explain itself and I can find no support on how it works - can someone explain this all in simple terms please? I am a bit lost.

Hi,

I use a 1010LT, admitidly with 9.10, and it works great. The first thing that leaps to mind is the levels in alsamixer. I would use the terminal rather than gui (I think it has a nicer interface) The channels are all rather criptically named but the inputs are the first bunch from left to right and are labelled something like ADC0 to ADC7. Make sure they’re turned up. I’m not actually in front of my own PC now but I will be later so let me know if this is too noddy and I’ll have a look and post my other settings.

Steven

That sounds promising. Unfortunately I am also not at my computer (killing time at work) but will be in front of it in about 5 hours to try and make it work. By “terminal” do you mean the command line terminal on the applications menu? How do I access the mixer through this? ADC0 to 7 rings a bell, the channels were marked thus on the gnome mixer. What does it stand for? There were also channels marked DAC or something of that nature.

Yes, I do. Get it up and type alsamixer then it will come up. I should be at home then too although I’m having connection issues so I might not be able to get online.