Lua Script and midi foot controller in Ardour 6.9-5

Hello,

I’ll try to be as clear as possible but it’s been a big headache for several weeks on this very important topic for me.

1. I’m a guitarist so when I play my hands are full.

2. I would like to use my foot controller (midi mouse tech21 which works very well with Ardour) to “launch short sounds” on the fly, live, while continuing to play the guitar. Synth sounds, noises, etc. using a region split track with all my sounds in each region and going from region to region. It seemed to me that this was the best solution.
    I’ve exhausted my midi mouse mapping solutions to what it can do in the interface (don’t do much about the transport. There’s no button to map directly in the interface that goes from region to region, apart from going to the start and end of the track). A LUA script seems like the only solution to me.

3. With just one click on the pedalboard, my playback head should automatically position itself at the start of a region, start the transport and stop at the end of the region, and the best thing would be by switching to 1 it goes to the beginning of region 1, to 2 for region 2 or to 5 for region 5, for example. That would be ideal. But I could just jump from region to region and then start the transport. There is no shortage of solutions for this (shortcut or built-in LUA script playing on intervals and markers). So I need to write (or find) a script that maps my controller and does what is said at the beginning of this paragraph.

So I’ve been working on this language for 1 week. If it’s a language that’s not too complex, it’s still difficult when you’re not a developer and you just have a few notions of bash.

While searching I found this post that comes closest to what I want to do.

Has anyone ever experienced this? Are there other solutions?
All information is welcome!
Thank you.
Jeff

Hi

I’m the Author of the original Post. Yes, it’s the exact same scenario i want to solve.