Looking at MIDI data is painful. Any help or guidance appreciated

Hi

I’m totally new to Ardour as I’ve been working with Qtractor for several years. All I work with is MIDI which, I do understand has gotten much love from the Ardour developers as of late. I fully embrace the fact I’ll be dealing with a learning curve and toward that end, have put together a silly little session for the purpose of learning how to move around, etc, etc. That said, I’m finding the overall cosmetics extremely painful in terms of navigating and seeing clearly what data exists where.

I’ve looked at and tried all the themes but always find myself coming back to the default because I’m attracted to the idea of my setup being as generic as possible. Last night I learned I can double-click on a region in order to expand the track (quickly and easily shrinking it back feels somewhat overlooked but I can get by for now) and get to work on the region’s MIDI notes… awesome… except now the expanded region’s background is now red which makes the notes nearly impossible to see at a glance. In order to remove the “glare” of red on red, I can enter “Draw mode”… OK, now I can see the actual MIDI data clearly but I’m now in an edit mode which may be fine but maybe I shouldn’t need to be here since it can’t be assumed I wanted to make any actual edits. My question here is simply whether or not this is optimal, ideal, a known shortcoming people are dealing with, or something being thought about for some refactoring? It just feels inefficient and perhaps still representative of a time when MIDI was the known 2nd class citizen compared to audio?