Live Looping ideas

Hi everyone! Paul this stuff is brilliant! I’m new to Ardour (on 2.8.12) and quite amazed. I can’t wait to do something with it musically that brings me an income so I can send a more significant donation.

I know Ardour is not Ableton Live, but I can almost see it working for live looping sessions alongside Sooper Looper. Essentially I want Ardour to loop plugins/ effects over the audio from SooperLooper. Any suggestions to make this work would be welcome.

Here’s what I’ve been doing:

1. Get multiple loops going on SooperLooper
  2. Use Jack to send each SL loop to individual tracks in Ardour for effects/ plugins.
  3. Set Ardour to play a 4 or 8 bar loop constantly at same BPM as SooperLooper.
  4. With SL loops going thru Ardour, I can automate fx parameters over the looped section on the Ardour timeline. This is the tricky part (not practical for live setting) because I have to switch between write and play in order for the effects to be automated(write) and then looped (play).

So, this leaves me with a few questions (or feature requests):

1. Is there a MIDI programmable way to toggle between write and play functions for automations? A MIDI command for write/play on each automation for each effect parameter would essentially make my set-up functional in a live setting.
  2. Can Ardour be set up to receive its BPM and Loop length from Sooper Looper?

-Peace

Hey, its great to see someone else looping with Ardour. Thanks for the tips. I’m on OSX so I’ll try the AU SooperLooper plugin (up till now I’ve used the stand alone SooperLooper program). Also, I just noticed the 2.8.14 update to Ardour , so I’ll get that going and see how everything works.

I guess I’m assuming you are working under linux. I didn’t think, but maybe you are using the SooperLooper AU plugin under OSX? In that case, whatever I said may not apply.

I’ve use a similar setup here on a live rig, substituting Ardour (2 or 3) for Qtractor or Mixbus depending on need.