Learning to support beginning keyboard student

My 9 year old grandson is in his first year of piano/keyboard lessons. I am not a musician. I am not an audio engineer. I am an old computer scientist/engineer/programmer/admin. I have a lot of documentation read and understand. But first I’m hoping you can point me to the right software choices and basic quickstart configurations.

For Christmas, we bought him the least expensive digital piano we could find with weighted keys, a Casio CDP-135. My first goal is to be able to download midi songfiles with sheet music or extract sheet music from the midi file, and then have my grandson play along with the midi tracks.

I started with a default install of UbuntuStudio 18.10. I searched the repositories for relevant packages and installed them. Then, I had an overwhelming number of choices. I tried some stuff. Some stuff worked well, some not so much. I’ve narrowed the field to Ardour5, lilypond, and some software that runs on top of lilypond.

I have the hardware working. I can record and play midi using Frescobaldi. I can play midi using Ardour5 using the default General Midi Synth. I have not yet tried recording in Ardour5.

I have questions.

Why doesn’t playback stop when the playhead reaches end?

How do I change the default track name from -t-… to -?

When watching the song in the edit window, why do I hear the track and see the volume levels, but not see anything in the strip as the playhead goes by?

How do I change a track to use one of the 10 patches built in the digital piano? Do I need to configure jack for this?

Are there any particularly relevant tutorials you can point me to?

Hmm. My track names had elements that looks sorta like html and got eaten.

I want the change the default track name from songname-track# to instrumentname-track#.