Latest nightly PPC build is japanese? Changing language?

Hi, I’m new here,
Longtime Mixbus user, recent Ardour subscriber. I got hold of an old Quad core G5 last week and was psyched to learn that Ardour is still being built for these wonderful machines.

I downloaded the last nightly build and it loads, tracks and appears to function fast and nicely however it’s in Japanese and I can’t make heads or tails of changing the language. I’ve tried looking around the forum without much luck. It’s been years since I’ve used a MAC and I’ve never used Ardour before, and although it’s almost identical to Mixbus I’m unable to navigate to a “preferences” or “Options”.

There’s Preferences > Appearance > Translations > Use translations

If you cannot find, that in Japanese, close Ardour, open a terminal and run:

echo -n 0 > ~/Library/Preferences/Ardour6/.translate

This create a file Library/Preferences/Ardour6/.translate in your home folder with the number zero in it. Then restart Ardour and it should be in American English.

As for the root issue. Could it be that the OS’s default was Japanese and English was only added as 2nd language?

Thank you, I will give this a try right away. Osx defaulting to japanese would be crazy, as I am Norwegian, with a norwegian keyboard. I installed OSX in norwegian and has Oslo, Norway in “time zones”. Could it be that Ardour wanted to go for Norwegian and couldn’t, so it went for the closest language, Japanese? :stuck_out_tongue:

EDIT:
I tried it but It’s still in japanese. Well, actually it appears to be a mix between japanese, french and some english. :confused: I figured out that the shortcut to prefs should be “alt+O” but that does nothing, and the drop down menu shortcut that has “alt+O” as it’s keyboard shortcut also does nothing… :frowning:

Could you make a screenshot (command + shift + 3), that would at least be entertaining :slight_smile: