Just to Wave ( music video )

This song was released on Sept. 12, 2023. I used Ardour version 7.5.0 to record, mix and master.

I am still learning how to record, mix and master. I’ll detail what I learned to use for this recording.

Musically, the song consists of 3 guitar parts, an electric bass, vocals recorded with a mic, and synthesized drums. The solo guitar part is heard at the end of the recording.

I used AIDA-X Amp Model Player on the lead and solo guitars. AIDA-X models both guitar amplifiers and speaker cabinets. You can download AIDA-X configuration files to model a specific amp and speaker cabinet. The configuration files I used were recorded at a 48000 sample rate. I record at 44100 sample rate. Therefore, to lighten the load on my computer, I used ffmpeg to convert the configuration files to 44100 sample rate. To differentiate the lead guitars from the solo guitars, I used different AIDA-X configurations.

The lead guitars are recorded on 2 mono tracks. One track panned to the far left, the other panned to the far right. To enhance the lead guitars further, I used the LSP Parametric Equalizer x16 MidSide . With the LSP equalizer, I set the higher frequencies to the sides ( left and right). I set the lower frequencies to the middle.

The rhythm guitar is recorded on one mono track panned to the middle. I used the Bluedream on the rhythm guitar track.

For the drums, I used the LSP Multi-Sampler x24 DirectOut . The LSP sampler allows you to customize the sound of each individual sample ( a short audio recording of a instrument, drum or cymbal ). I shortened the length of the kick drums and cymbals. I had read that shortening the kick drum reduces contention with a bass guitar. Shortening the cymbals reduced contention with guitars and vocals.

See my website for a complete list of software and plugins used : Punch-Up Song: Just to Wave

Beautiful, thanks for sharing.

I like it, thanks for sharing. But your video and audio are out of sync…