join two mono regions into one stereo track?

I’m brand new to Ardour and I’m trying to figure out how to do something that I would think would be pretty simple to accomplish. I have two mono WAV files that are simply the left and right of a stereo sample. I imported the two of them as regions into a project and want to add them as the left and right of a stereo track, but I can’t figure out how to do that! The only thing I can think to do is to add the regions to their own mono tracks, set the inputs of the stereo track to the mono tracks and hit record, but that seems extremely inelegant (and possibly lossy, I imagine).

the way you had found out is not inelegant and not lossy. You have quite some freedom by doing things this way (panning, extra effects, etc).

But is it important to have a stereo track ? you know when you export the whole session, things will end up in a stereo file anyway. It is nice to stay close to sources as much as possible :slight_smile:

So recording them to a stereo track in the way I described would be the same as if I straight copied the regions into the stereo track?

It’s important, to me, to have a stereo track because otherwise I need to have a mono track for each region. If I have the tracks set up like that, I’ll have to make sure that anytime I edit one track the same thing happens to the other track, which can be a headache – unless there’s a way to permanently link two tracks for editing…?

IMO - ardour makes working with stereo tracks a PITA. Stick to two mono tracks.

If you must, send the two tracks to the left and right input of a stereo bus

unless there’s a way to permanently link two tracks for editing…?

sure, output each mono track output to resp. left and right input of a stereo bus :slight_smile:

Apply your effects on the bus. I think you can even “link” the mono track regions together (I’m not sure on that one as I never had the need to do so) so if you move one, the other moves as well.