JACK track mapping

I am new to Ardour and JACK.

I am using KUBUNTU 15.04 64 Bit. I have a Roland SC-88VL via Roland UA25.

I have JACK configured with a2j (took a while to find out what I required) and it is all working. One thing I dont understand is, why do you have to drag (or connect) each midi track across from JACK source (readable clients) to JACK outputs (writeable clients). This means making lots of individual connections every time you play a different MIDI file. Using MuseScore for instance you dont seem to need to do this. I just wonder if I have everything setup properly so although it works, I could make the ‘connections’ automatically. I thought it just used MIDI control out but it seems only to work if I make each individual connection in the JACK connections panel. So far really impressed with Ardour and I have tried some audio recording as well.

Thank you very much - Robert

If I’m understanding you right, the problem is that you have to do all your MIDI routing manually each time you load your project?

If so, try doing your MIDI track routing from within Ardour. It’s still using JACK, but Ardour will remember settings between openings and closings.

In addition to setting up the connections within Ardour (best option) there is also command-line program aj-snapshot which can remember and restore Jack connections and Non-session manager which can save and load sessions with several Jack-aware programs and connections.