Is there a silence feature like in Audacity?

I’m new to Ardour and I LOVE it so far. I’ve been editing a podcast in Audacity for a while and now have moved to Ardour. The workflow I have developed is specific to Audacity and I am open to changing it if that is required in order to use Ardour properly.

I import 4-7 tracks depending on how many guests we have on the show at one time. We have a countdown that leads to everyone saying ZERO at the same time.

Then I align all the tracks to this ZERO.

After I add some effects to the tracks I begin editing. I don’t do any cutting or ripple type deletes because that would move the tracks out of sync.

When there is a section to remove, I used Silence in Audacity to preserve the sync.

At the end I’d mix and render to a new track. On this new track I’d apply a Truncate Silence effect to reduce any silence to .5 seconds to deal with the silence added when I silenced errors.

Is there a way to do this in Ardour? I like the silence method but I’m open to change if another workflow works better in Ardour.

Perhaps I should just be cutting before and after the section and removing it without making the section after it slide backwards, Putting everything out of sync. In video editing I know you can remove a section without rippling backwards.

Try “Insert Time” and “Remove Time” in the track menu. If you group your tracks together and do a range select either with the smart tool or range tool [R], it works like a charm.

This seems unnecessary if you start recording all tracks at the same time? Also if you do it this way, grouping tracks then ripple editing works like a multi-track ripple mode and everything stays in sync (as long as you maintain grouping and don’t change starts of individual regions). You could always use automation to bring down the level of guests’ microphones when they are not speaking.

1 Like