Is it possible to use multiple sfz soundfonts (in different tracks)?

I have found decent free soundfonts for the instruments I’m interested in and I would like to assign a different one to each midi track I have open. I loaded the sfizz plugin on to each track, but there seem to be only one sfizz instance running, and whatever soundfont I load last overwrites the others. All the tracks use the same soundfont, hence play the same instrument.

Is it possible to have multiple instance of sfizz running, or is there a trick to use multiple soundfonts in one instance? Or should I perhaps load multiple instance in a plugin rack (carla, let’s say)?

I’m no expert on this, as I have only done it a few times, but I have never had a problem as you’ve described. I create a midi track, assign sfizz to it, and pick out a (an? :slight_smile: ) sfz file, and that works great. Let’s say it’s an oboe sound. Then I create another midi track, assign sfizz to it, and for this one, choose a clarinet. I have not had an issue where the sounds chosen were over-rided by choices in a separate track. I would suggest that if you are following a simple procedure like this, and it’s working as you described it, open a ticket/report a problem.

That being said, you’re going to get a lot of pushback that sfz != soundfont. And they are correct. Very unfortunate naming similarities. I think the “Generic Synth”-thing, nominally included in Ardour, is soundfont-based, like QSynth/fluidsynth. And sfizz is for sfz-format patches.

Yes, I’m aware that sfz files are different from the .sf/sf2 soundfont files used by fluidsynth and similar synths. I’m possibly using the wrong terms, but could not think of a better one—I’m still pretty new to all this. Sample banks, or sample collections, perhaps?