Is anyone still using an Edirol UA-1000?

Hi,

Historically, I’ve been a 2x2 soundcard user and made the switch to use Linux as my only Desktop almost three years ago.

I saw the opportunity to get myself and Edirol-UA1000 practically for free a year from now and I know it’s very old, but I’m happy with the result. Everything works out of the box.

However, it is quite challenging in some aspects. I have never been able to see inputs and outputs on alsamixer (Jack and Ardour seems them fine) and recently I have tried to install pipewire and it’s totally unusable with the Edirol (it is with other sound cards though) to the point that if Pipewire is installed either I run Ardour with ALSA or it crashes.

Are anyone of you still using the old Edirol? Have you find similar problems?

Good morning.

I am not very knowledgeable about Linux Audio, I am a competent musician rather than a technician so please everyone jump in and correct me here.

Manufactured around 2002 ish, it isn’t going to work with pipe wire is my guess .
If Ardour can see it there must be some sort of legacy driver for it, the functionality that you have maybe as good as it gets. As an aside, were you trying to get an older bit of hardware like this working on Windows or a Mac I doubt your experience would be as good?

hope this helps

Alastair

1 Like

I’ve still got my old Edirol UA-1000, and it still works as well as it ever did. I haven’t tried it with Pipewire, though. Using jackd version 0.125.0 (from debian bullseye/stable) here seems fine. If it works with Ardour’s ALSA backend, I’d say there’s probably a Pipewire bug. What actually goes wrong when you try it with Pipewire?