Intro and request for feedback

Howdy everyone!

I’m somewhat new to the Ardour scene, but not new to multitrack recording on the computer. My previous experience was with a windows based PC. We were recording 16 channels live. Basically, we were going XLR into a 16 channel analog mixer with a snake out of the mixer into two 8 channel adats that were sync’d up and then SPDIF into I believe it was a Sonorus sound card. We were doing that about 7 or 8 years ago and we were barely able to do 16 tracks live at once, but we could, mainly due to the speed of the PC.

Now I have a horse of box running Ubuntu and have been enamored with Ardour. However, I sold all of my sound cards and adats and stuff a while back, so I’m starting from scratch again.

My thought was go with maybe an Edirol M-16DX digital mixer, and just bring it into my Ubunto box via SPDIF. I really like having the pre-mix for a live setting so that you can get everything really close before bringing it in, thus eliminating a lot of post mix time. My main concern is finding a sound card or two as the case may be, that would be compatible with Ubuntu/Ardour/Jack etc.

I’ve yet to purchase the mixer or sound cards because I wanted to see if anyone here was running a similar system with success and could recommend known performers that are compatible.

Thanks for any suggestions, input, criticism or just plain old b.s.

T

Hi t-bone