Installation instructions

please excuse my ignorance, but I am totally new to this operating system, I have been recording with Cakewalk Home studio for many years, and was told that this medium was a nice change. As I don know how this OS works quite yet, I have downloaded the ARDOUR program, but don have a clue as to how to install it. Once this is done, I was hoping to use a firewire port and connect to my fire pod for testing. Does anyone know if there are drivers for the Presonus firepod for Linux

Thanks in advance

you haven’t really given enough information to provide you with the help you’re going to need.

first off, there are many versions of ‘linux’. which distribution and version number of linux you are using will determine how you install ardour and the other applications you will need to get going.

this isn’t really the forum to give you a complete lesson on linux audio for the absolute linux newbie.

however, there is plenty of information all over the web that’ll help you learn what you need to know.

wikipedia might be a good place to start.

those articles should give you a better idea of what you need to learn next. it is also absolutely crucial that you learn more about your particular linux distribution. for example, how one goes about installing software, as this is different for all distributions.

regarding your presonus firepod, some people have reported success using this interface, but, depending on your linux distribution, you may need to install additional software.

Bio, if you are really that new to linux, and you intend to use it mainly for audio work, i would recommend trying out or more of the various audio distributions available. Ardour will be packaged with most if not all of these. (but perhaps not the very latest version).

take a look at: http://linux-sound.org/distro.html

i think this will save you a lot of work, and you will get down to doing some audio