Improving (MIDI) control surfaces using selectable modes

I’m setting up Ardour for use with my X-touch compact control surface, and am running into some limitations that I would like to resolve. In this post, I’ll share some thoughts on this, and hope to get some feedback and maybe suggestions.

Background

I’m new to Ardour, just starting my first project, which is making a nice mix from a live recording of a choir/musical group performance, including both spoken scenes and songs. I have 21 channels, each individual singer/actor is separate, so I suspect my workflow might be a bit different than the typical usecase of a small band with diverse instruments, or producing electronic music. In particular, I suspect there will be a lot of repetition in my work, which makes it particularly useful to be able to use my X-touch as much as possible. However, since I’m not very familiar with Ardour, I might also be hung up on a particular work flow I think I want, even when that might not be the best approach in practice (so feel free to call me out on that). I’m an embedded software engineer by trade, so I have a tendency to add code to make things do what I want (I’ve already dug around the Ardour codebase a bit this week…).

Intended workflow

So, the workflow I imagine is similar to what the Mackie Control mode in Ardour offers:

1. Use banks to access all channels, with faders for the channel fader gain, buttons for solo/mute/select.
  2. My X-Touch Compact (XT) has one encoder per channel, so I would like to change its function using other buttons (i.e. switch between channel trim, panning, FX send, etc.).
  3. For controlling plugins, I imagine using the 8 extra encoders to control plugin parameters on the selected channel. Since there are more parameters than I have encoders, I would select the set of parameters to edit using one of the encoders or buttons (i.e. press one button to select EQ band 1, another to select EQ band 2, one more for the compressor), etc.