imports from other Daws

I’m a semi-pro recording engineer thinking about adding Ardour to my equipment list. I often get asked to mix projects that bands have recorded themselves on the mainstream DAWs like Nuendo and Pro Tools. Can Ardour import projects from these systems? I saw OMF and AAF on the wish list but are they available yet?

Hi David. AAF import is available via a (paid-for) plugin but it needs some (minor) patches to Ardour’s source code.

If you’re a Debian user, I’m told there’s a binary build available somewhere (i.e. a package build of Ardour, with AAF import enabled). Unfortunately, I don’t know where to get it… :frowning:

If I find anything out, I’ll let you know. OMF isn’t under development AFAIK.

OMF will likely never be available. It is a proprietary standard, there is no public documentation for it, and unless someone pays us for rather a lot of work, we’re not going to reverse engineer it.

The best way to move projects between any two random DAWs at present is to create BWF stems of each track. You can do bulk-import of these files into Ardour via drag-n-drop or via the Import dialog. This is also the simplest way to get audio from Ardour into other DAWs as well.

This does lose plugin information, but you likely couldn’t move that between DAWs usefully anyway.

Hi John & Paul - will AAF be available for the Mac version any time soon?

The solution by Indamixx utilizes the official SDK for AAF, which is incompatible for the GPL. John, the author of the AAF solution for Indamix, has said that if enough people pledge funding for it in Ardour’s Mantis tracker, he will develop anopen source solution.

Now how that will work, and whether it will be part of Ardour if it does happen I do not know. But as of right now there is noone working on a solution for inclusion in A3.

Seablade

Is there any more news about the AAF situation? Indamixx has been offering
AAF since 2008, even though it’s still not officially available in Ardour.