Imported track is clipping

Hi everybody,

I just found something that looked weird to me but I think it could be because I’m pretty new to audio production and I still have to get certain things right…

I’m mixing a track I’ve recorded with a friend and I decided to download some tracks from youtube to use as references while mixing. So, after the download, I just imported the tracks in Ardoud using the import function.
After that, I just noticed that the tracks I imported were clipping. In fact, I can either see the red colored peaks on the region and, of course, I’m able to hear a terrible clipping happening at the audio level.

So my question is: how it comes these tracks are clipping? Suppose I want to use these tracks as a reference for mastering (for testing loudness or compression of my track comparing to the reference as an example…) I really think I cannot base my comparisons listening to a clipping reference because what I hear seems definitely wrong and I don’t want my track to sound like that at all…

Clearly, if I turn the fader of the imported tracks down, clipping disappears, but I don’t know if this would be the correct way to proceed, since I wouldn’t know HOW MUCH to turn the fader down to have a good reference. Suppose I want to compare my track loudness with the reference loudness: how much have I to lower my fader? Every time I turn my fader down loudness decreases, but what is the “right” loudness I want to get?..

Could you help me to figure out this “weird” (to me) situation?

Thanks in advance

By default Ardour indicates clipping when the level is >= -0.1 dBFS (this can be configured in preferences).

If you import a file that is normalized to 0 dBFS, parts may show up as clipped.
However when playing it back it should be fine (except for inter-sample peaks).

Thanks for the reply!