I cannot monitor inputs, what am I doing wrong?

I’m a relatively experienced cubase user trying to get my head around Ardour. I’m pretty new to linux.

I have a M-Audio 2496 soundcard. I have envy24 set up ok, and have managed to get Jack running, and get a mic input into ardour working fine.

It will record and playback audio from the mic. What I cannot do is monitor the input live. I have tracks routed as below, with the mic as ‘capture 1’ and I have the ‘mic input test’ track armed to record.

As I said, it will record this and play it back again, but I cannot hear the monitor signal of the mic. Now, the strange thing is that if I make a connection directly from the mic to the master, then I can monitor the mic and hear it live:

So, why is it that it will not feed a monitor signal from the ‘mic input test’ track to the ‘master’, even though it appears to be connected to do so?

Many thanks for the help!!!

just been having a better look around and found this:
http://ardour.org/node/1090

This might solve my problem, but I’ve been sat in front of this screen far too long to try it now, so will give it a go tomorrow… :slight_smile:

So, why is it that it will not feed a monitor signal from the ’mic input test’ track to the ’master’, even though it appears to be connected to do so?
Because there are three ways of monitoring in ardour, and the default one (I reckon) is external monitoring.