How to get transport syncronized with Waves Tune?

Hello, I’ve been using Ardour on Windows 10 (64bits) for the last 6 months or so, and I really like it, but i have an issue i can’t resolve yet.

I have some Waves plugins that work fine in Ardour, but the Waves Tune one won’t sync with Ardour transport (In order to edit the sound inside the VST and send transport signals to Ardour so i can move through the track and not have to close the plugin every time i want it to play from determinated point in time).

Waves Tune uses propellerhead’s ReWire to sync with DAWs, but since Ardour doesn’t have ReWire support i want to know if there’s any way to do it via JACK or maybe if there’s such a thing as a ReWire emulator.

Basically, i need to control the transport from a VST, i am assuming that if i can do it with Waves Tune i would be also able to do it with other edition plugins.

I have spent some time reading the forum and looking for tutorials to get this done, but still don’t know how to do it (Also, i’ve already configured JACK on my computer but can’t find any option that lets me do what i need).

Thank you very much for reading this, and hopefully someone can help me out.

Plugins do not use Rewire to sync with the host. If you’re using the Waves Tune VST, then there is a method defined by the VST specification to allow the plugin to sync with the host. Ardour supports this mechanism, and other plugins are known work fine with this mechanism.

I would suggest you check out a version of the 6.1-rc1 pre-release from nightly.ardour.org and see if it still has this issue.

Thank you very much for your quick reply. This plugin actually do use ReWire to connect to the hosts (or at least that is what the manufacturer says).

When I open Waves Tune in Ardour it gives me an error saying the plugin couldn’t connect to ReWire and that I need to check my settings.