How to change multiple tracks outputs at once?

Hi, I’m new in Ardour… how can I select multiple tracks and change all of them outputs? for exemple: I want to route all drums tracks to a bus. can I do this all at once? also, to create sends to a aux bus in multiple track at once… can I do it?

1 Like

You can’t do this by just operating on a set of arbitrary selected tracks.

However, you can put them in a group and then create a subgroup bus.

You can also open the Window > Audio Connections (Alt-p on Linux) to get an extremely flexible and fast interface for setting up I/O connections.

Out of curiosity how complex would it be to develop such a feature? SHIFT select and hold for applying the same routing action to multiple tracks. I know it’s not even seen as necessary for starters, but I would like to understand if what we are asking is actually an endeavouring task or just a bone that won’t be thrown for a matter of software vision principles.
:cowboy_hat_face:

It’s not particularly hard but it also isn’t particularly useful.

Most of the time, you’re doing one of two things:

1. using an aux send to route to a bus.
  2. using a sub-group bus to handle all outputs from a group

For (1), wiring up the track outputs isn’t a part of the process at all. The signal flows via aux-sends.

For (2), it’s faster to select the tracks, then right click in the group bar, make a new group from the selection, then right click again and select “Add Subgroup Bus”, which both creates the bus, and reconnects all the outputs of the group to it.

3 Likes