How to anchor a region to time instead of music?

Question: how do I anchor a region to a time (relative to the beginning of the session/timeline), rather than to measures/beats?

Background: I’m a long-time pro musician working on my first ever film scoring project. I’ve used DAWs occasionally over the years, but I’m new to Ardour. I’m using version 8.2.0 on Windows 10.

Explanation: I’ve created music for a part of the film, starting several minutes in; let’s call it part G. It includes a tempo change just before it starts. Now I want to create music for an earlier part of the film; let’s call it part F. It will have a different tempo, and I know I’ll have to tweak F’s tempo several times before it’s done; it may even need several tempo changes.
The problem is that, whenever I change or move a tempo that precedes G, G moves in time – that is, its starting time or timecode changes. G is apparently anchored to a location defined in measures and beats, but I need it anchored to a time or timecode that isn’t dependent on any tempo.
I saw that each tempo has a Lock Style, but when I try to change it from “music” to “audio”, it silently reverts back. (This is a bug: it should either (a) stay changed, (b) give me an error message, or (c) be disabled so I can’t change it.)

I’m probably missing some vital piece of understanding about how Ardour works, or how I should work with it. Help, please?

Film scoring/foley work is the one likely use case that we’re aware of where “MIDI locked to audio time” is important.

As of version 8.2, Ardour does not support this.

You could theoretically go back to Ardour 6.x or earlier, which does offer the possibility, but that comes with the cost of losing all the fixes and features we’ve added since then. Hard to recomend this.

Those lock-styles on tempos are not supposed to be there.