How do you set up MIDI in Ardour?

I am new to Ardour, and I have become quite frustrated in the past three hours attempting to understand MIDI connections. I have used MIDI for several years on pro tools, but pro tools can only run RTAS plugins, and I want to experiment with VSTs. So I decided to install Ardour. I cannot find any description of setting up a MIDI keyboard and connecting it to a plugin that is simple enough for me to follow.

In my current setup I have:

-My Macbook Pro
-Digidesign Mbox
-Yamaha Piano with MIDI I/O
-Condenser Microphone

Currently, my Mbox is being routed through JACK as my input and output for Ardour. My MIDI I/O on my Yamaha Keyboard is physically connected to the I/O of my Mbox with midi cables, and the Condenser Microphone is connected to Input 1 of the Mbox.

I have done several audio recordings on Ardour so far, but I am still clueless on how to setup and use MIDI.

Best wishes to all

sticklefrog
have you seen:
http://manual.ardour.org/setting-up-your-system/setting-up-midi/midi-on-os-x/

in each MIDI track choose IN and OUT devices and channel numbers…

I have tried that, but every time I connect the midi output of a MIDI track to my MIDI input, I get a flashing feedback button.

OK, try this : take 1 MIDI track and check ALL “out” connections, you should only have 1 OUT connected
( sometimes , as default, things are connected and produce feedback

or, : mute all, or start a nex session, create 1 new MIDI track, and take each step ( IN and OUT )–>you’ll discover all what can be routed

sorry sticklefrog, maybe I was to fast:
-JackOSX.0.90b17 should work -> X.9 ( X.8 included )
-here I use X.8, but I couldnt bring it to work
—> so I came back to:
JackOSX.0.90b15, and it works

Update: I did manage to find jackosx 0.90b15, but it still is blind to midi. Other software (which does not rely on jack) works well with my midi device. Any ideas? TIA!