How do I write/record midi drums?!

Hi all,

I am brand new to Ardour, have been using Sonar for some time now under Windows, but want to move away from it. Under Sonar, I was using Battery 3 as my drum suite, and it works great.

I have checked on Linux forums and it seems like Hydrogen is a pretty good drum suite, but I am not too sure how to make it work with Ardour, or if it is the right way to go…

Can anyone share some thoughts? Is hydrogen the right tool for this? How can I record my own drums with it? (I would appreciate some simple answers, like I said, total beginner! :wink: )

THANK YOU!

Hello

I use Hydrogen when writing the drums parts of my songs... It's pretty easy. You'll need a tool like qjackctl for connecting  the Hydrogen output to the Ardour input. First, create your rhythms on Hydrogen. Then, start Ardour and create a track. Go to qjackctl and connect the two outputs of Hydrogen (left and right) to the Ardour's input for that track. Select that track for recording in Ardour and start recording. Then go to Hydrogen and play your rythm. It will be recorded on the track.
If someone knows a easier way to do that, please let me know. I am a begginer too.

Cris.Ricardo

Absolutely :slight_smile:
That’s how I do my drumming : via Rosegarden and a VSTi through the VST host called dssi-vst. Rosegarden controls the VSTi but will be sync’ed to ardour via the jack transport mode. All these guys run in sync on one press of the play button (and that button makes no difference whatsoever be it in rosegarden, ardour or qjackctl - the jack GUI control).

watch my super lame video at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ys1s3Dk5sGo where I show the stuff in action (be warned, there’s no comment, it’s boring, etc).

I use rosegarden to record drum tracks from my Roland kit, then tweak the midi (double tracked notes or mishits). I can then change out drum sounds, etc during the mixing stage.